Posted by Dave Owens
On the 29th June 2017 The Cessnock Rotary Club held its 80th Annual Changeover Dinner at the Potters Hotel and Brewery. District Governor and club member Stephen Jackson performed admirably in the role of MC for the proceedings.  An evening of fun and fellowship was also the setting for the presentation of a number of awards and donations to Rotary Members, Community organisations and outstanding members of the community. The prestigious Community Innovation and Excellence Award was made by Past President Vicki Steep to Helen Scott for her tireless work in the Branxton Community. Club donations to the community were made to the Girl Guides, Cessnock Volunteer Rescue Association, Wheeling and Able and Jacaranda Lodge. PP Vicki Steep also accepted a contribution to the Umoja Orphanage in Kenya and the club made a donation to Past District Governor Janette Jackson for the District Governors Partners Project, End Polio Now.
President Ross in one of his last official duties presented Peter Carver and John Jowett with a well deserved Sapphire Pin to their Paul Harris Fellow award. President Ross was surprised by being made a very deserving Paul Harris Fellow.
As the culmination of the evening President Ross presented the Chain of Office to incoming President Graham Farish who outlined his vision and plans for the club for the ensuing year. President Graham was then able to induct our newest member into the club, Bev Hannay.
Special mention must be made of the 2017 Changeover cake which was a masterly creation by Claudia Koncz.
A very Special evening finished with a rousing rendition of the National Anthem.